Intro, what brought...

Notifications
Clear all

Intro, what brought you to fortress K9? What else do you do?

5 Posts
5 Users
12 Likes
Customer
Topic starter
(@chip)

I found some of the training videos Joel has on youtube while searching for our next dog and felt a lot of his approach made sense so dug a little deeper. I always had a lot of respect for working line dogs but never thought I had the time/understanding to do one of these dogs justice. After a few weeks of watching more videos and diving into the podcast I started to come around and decided to pull the trigger and put a deposit down on a Fortress K9 Dutch Shepard. My prior dogs were a Boxer/American bull dog mix and boxer that were at best "good boys" but had no level of obedience. I've had Loki for a little over a year now and cant wait to see how he turns out. I work in the automotive field and we have a three year old daughter. Most hobbys outside of dog training revolve around staying active, running, hiking, biking, gardening etc.

4 Replies
(@christopher-karsten)

Was interested in buying a puppy to train as a service dog for myself. Only wanted a Malinois, Dutch or German Shepard so naturally thats what they have. We could not afford a fully trained service dog and even a puppy stretched our budget if we went that route. Leaned he was teaming with another organization to provide a service dog fully trained and paid for. Applied and after 6 months we got Sickle for myself. Had her about 8 months now and she is wonderful. Very blessed for myself and my family.

Ash
Customer
(@ash)

I deal with prosopagnosia (face blindness) which makes interacting both irritating and sometimes dangerous. I used my previous shepherd to help discern who is stranger and who is friend and who is stranger. Their natural distrust of strangers works in my best advantage. I hope to train mine to best of my ability so he can travel with me throughout the day since his memory is already better then mine. 

(@anna-steeves)